One Egg, Two Egg, Red Egg, Blue Egg

Eggs is eggs!

Last week, I met a nice, elderly woman at the farmer’s market who was disappointed that there were no pastured eggs for sale. I invited her to my home and hooked her up with a dozen from my back yard.

The eggs I gave her were mixed in color: brown, cream, blue, reddish, and tan.

She was pleased with the eggs–especially the blue ones because they “have less cholesterol.”

We talked about the blue eggs and how she had purchased eggs the previous week from a farmer’s market. She paid $5.50 for brown eggs and $6.50 for the “low cholesterol” blue eggs.

Folks, I need you to listen to me. Eggs is eggs is eggs. The color of the shell has no nutritional bearing on the egg itself. The chicken’s diet and lifestyle will affect the quality of the eggs, but we’ll talk about that another day.

It is pigment that is laid upon the cuticle of the egg in the 4th hour of development in the oviduct of the chicken that determines the color of the eggs. And the chicken’s DNA is responsible for the pigment. (Whip that tidbit out the next time someone tries to overcharge you for egg color.)

For today, I just want to the you all to know, you should only pay extra for egg color if egg color is important to you. And it may be–a colorful basket is lovely. But don’t let anyone trick you into thinking the color of the egg is nutritionally superior.

I’d really like to know what other kind of egg myths are floating around out there. What have you heard about chicken eggs?

Want to see what WiseGeek has to say on the matter?

Or, for a lot more information, check this out: http://www.zoo.cam.ac.uk/zoostaff/bbe/Kilner/PDFs/BiolRev-Kilner2006.pdf

6 thoughts on “One Egg, Two Egg, Red Egg, Blue Egg”

  1. My partridge wyandotte bantam lays green eggs and I heard someone say about low cholesterol the other day when we were talking about green eggs. I had never heard this before. But I am glad I didn’t believe them.

    1. Well, if he likes to buy brown eggs, by all means buy brown eggs! There are two things to consider here. First, maybe he just likes them. All else being equal, some people just like one color over another, so go for it.

      Another thing to think of is that most white eggs are from White Leghorn chickens because they lay a crazy amount of eggs. They create more profit for egg farmers. There’s nothing wrong with that, but in the interest of biodiversity, it’s not a bad idea to buy non-white eggs just to help the other chicken breeds say in business! I stopped buying white eggs many years ago just to support different breeds.

      But, don’t pay extra for egg color in the interest of affecting your cholesterol because you won’t.

    1. Yes, it’s hard setting the right price. I was selling for $3, but I was definitely subsidizing my egg clients. That’s just not right. I’ve upped my prices to $4, but some people pay me $5 voluntarily.

Leave a Reply

