Marshmallows!

Homemade Marshmallows

Temperatures have been dipping down into the 40s here in Central Texas. And ’round here, that kind of weather means down parkas, wool scarves, and steaming hot cocoa with marshmallows.

Being the DIY kind of gal that I am, I whipped up a batch of fluffy little white marshmallow puffs for our cocoa this weekend. They’re easy and fun; you should give it a try.

First thing’s first. You need corn syrup to make marshmallows. Now, corn syrup is not as bad for you as high fructose corn syrup, still it is something that I try to avoid. So, I start by making my own corn syrup.  It’s easy. Combine 2 cups white sugar,3/4 cup water,1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar and a pinch of salt in a heavy pan. Bring it to a boil. Once it reaches boiling point, turn it to simmer and simmer if for a bit while constantly stirring. I don’t know, maybe 5 minutes. I don’t time it. When it’s done, put it in a jar until cooled. I think it can be left on a shelf, but I put mine in the fridge and I freeze leftovers. I just used last years leftovers and they were fine.

Okay, now the fun part, making marshmallows. There are gazillions of recipes on the internet. Some use egg whites, most use gelatin, some are vegan, and there’s possibly a raw marshmallow recipe, but that might be a myth. I used one from the Food Network website. It’s quick, easy, and  yummy!

Mine didn’t come out quite as fluffy as I like. I attribute that to my short mixing time. Next time, I’ll whip them for 14 minutes instead of 12 minutes.

Give it a try, and share your favorite marshmallow recipes!

4 thoughts on “Marshmallows!”

Leave a Reply

