BuzzQuack’s Smallest Egg!

After Thursday’s Most Magnificent Egg, something crazy happened in the coop.

I don’t know what the other hens were thinking, but apparently there’s a competition going on between the hens. So, exactly one day after the large egg was laid (it was 7.5 cm tall by 4.5 cm wide and 3.8 ounces) one of the hens deposited the tinsiest egg ever. It was a darling 2.24 cm tall by 2 cm wide and weighed a slight 2 ounces. You can see how they compare in the picture to the left. The egg in the middle is a typical sized egg that weighs 2.4 ounces. It’s what most of the eggs are like.

What the heck?

I don’t know which hen laid which egg, but I have some clues. The large egg is green, which mean it came from one of the Americauna’s. Both of the Americauna’s are a little over two years old and have recently molted. I don’t know the science on this, but I know many people who tell me that older hens lay bigger eggs. And I have noticed that the eggs in the coop have gotten larger this fall. I don’t know what causes gigantic eggs, but I do know it came from a 2 year old hen.

The tiny egg is very likely a pullet egg. Female chickens are called pullets before they start laying and become hens after they begin to lay, though many people ofter refer to the first few eggs as pullet eggs and they are typically smallish.

Smallish, not tiny.

BuzzQuack has five different breeds of pullets: Swedish Flowers, Black Australorp, Rhode Island Reds, Americauna, and Speckled Sussex. Of those, I think the Rhode Island Red has the darkest colored egg. This little egg is very dark. I don’t know if that’s because it’s from the Rhode Island Red, or if the egg is darker because all the pigment is concentrated on such a small canvas. This is no one’s theory but my own, so if you have anything to prove or disprove it, please share!

3 thoughts on “BuzzQuack’s Smallest Egg!”

  1. How cute! We got one about this size last year. Just one. It was completely empty inside. I wish now I’d kept it and made a Christmas ornament out of it or something. Have you had a shell-less egg yet? Those are always fun to find.

Leave a Reply

