Homebrew Sangria

DSCF0408I’m having a small dinner party tonight. It’s a pretty small group, so I’m keeping the menu simple. Hot pepper poppers for an appetizer, a big salad, and pasta with the diner’s choice of garden pesto or red sauce from last summer’s tomatoes, and a couple loaves of bread.

As a homebrewer, clearly, I must provide wine. But I managed to ruin my last batch of wine (big, gigantic shame as it was a Chilean Malbec). It taste kind of like poor quality prune juice mixed with cheap wine. I made 30 bottles of it, so I must find ways to make it work. I’m not going to pour all that time, effort, and money down the drain.

So, I decided to make sangria. I’ve never made sangria in my life, but I have such fond memories of the incredible, fresh, and delicious sangria I drank at a cafe on Las Ramblas in Barcelona many years ago, so I thought I’d try my hand.

I poured a bottle of not-so-great red homebrewed wine into a French canning jar (the glass jars with the sealable lids with a gasket) and added a half cup of sugar that had been dissolved in hot water and COOLED before adding it into the wine (I probably used a little too much and will try half of that in the future), and then I tossed in whatever fruit I had around the house. I sliced two small oranges, a lemon, a whole can of pineapple chunks (juice and all) and about a half of a small jar of maraschino cherries (with a little of the juice).

I sealed it and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight. After pouring it into the pitcher, I added about 3 cups of bubbly water. I am please to say, it is wonderful! Sweet, tangy, and delicious! It’s not exactly a table wine, but it’s tasty and a lot of fun.

Whip some up and put it in a pretty pitcher. It’s looks nice and tastes great!

One thought on “Homebrew Sangria”

  1. 😀 sounds like a fun idea! I wish it was colder.. you could maybe save your wine and make something called Gluehwein. It’s a German traditional hot spiced wine for winter 😀

Leave a Reply

