Coddled Eggs

coddled eggs

Wanting to try something new, I thought I’d learn how to make coddled eggs. After reading several recipes, here’s what I did:

I took some custard dishes and rubbed the inside with a bruised garlic. Then, I rubbed the inside with some butter. I cracked today’s freshest eggs into the bowl, poured a little cream around the edge, seasoned with salt, pepper and olive oil.

Yum! Sounds great!

Then I put the custard dishes in a larger dish with hot water on the bottom and put the whole mess in the over (350 F) for 8 minutes.

I think they turned out just right. The yolks were runny and the whites were almost a little runny on top (or was the the olive oil). They looked beautiful.

You see that picture at the top of the post? Those were not my eggs. I wish mine looked like that, but they were much different. Maybe I needed more cream. Anyhoo…

The final result? (Drum roll)

They pretty much grossed me out, and my daughter too (who was a very daring sport). My husband refused to eat any egg with runny yolk so his cooked for about 20 minutes (and they were much better for it).

It wasn’t the runny yolks that bothered me–I loved poached and sunny side up, but the not quite cooked whites that were too much to bear.

So, there you have it. A new way to cook eggs and it worked perfectly, but in the end, I just couldn’t choke them down.

What’s your favorite way to cook eggs? Do you have any interesting recipes to share?

Leave a Reply

